27th - 28th July 2013

The 4th tournament of the year saw us back at our old stomping grounds with a total of 35 players. Some of the new Clayfield players were back for more which was good to see and quite encouraging. We welcomed another new player, Claus War, who joined the ranks and it was quite obvious that he took a liking to our team events.

Quite a few players got together on the saturday night for a social dinner at the Burleigh Heads Bowls Club. The food was great and the company was even better.

The final tally of the scores saw a fair gap between the winners and the wooden spooners but despite this competition between the teams was always keen and most enjoyable. 

The winning team with a point score of 1593 was the "Ladies First" 




For all new players wishing to join in our tournaments please follow  RULE 5 on our entry form relating to conditions of entry. It reads as follows:
"Enter as an individual. The BMAQ tournament committee will then place all entrants into teams of equal ability. Hence it is important to indicate either current grade played, level of experience or by reference to someone you know who plays with the Masters."

To all players currently taking part in our tournaments please be reminded that in an endeavour to increase our numbers for each tournament I ask you all to make mention of our tournaments to your fellow badminton buddies who may not be aware of our events. Stress to them to indicate their skill level based on the above criteria if they want to participate. By encouraging them to come along and have a go it will make for a more exciting tournament.



Graham Bonnett, President of the Badminton Masters Association of Qld a picture of concentration


The Action

Present Committee

The present committee is as follows:

President - Graham Bonnett
Vice President - Errol Vickers
Secretary - John Ursem
Treasurer - Lynda Massey
QBA Rep - Ulf Lunquist
Committee Members - Phil Pycroft, Paula Edds, Lennie Rasmussen