Nambour March 2013 Tournament

MARCH 9th-10th

Another great weekend was in the making with a registered total of 32 players. It was decided to run the competition with 4 teams of 8 thereby eliminating the bye. It meant that each player played 12 games on the Saturday with the final 8 games on Sunday.

We again welcomed a few new players which was good to see as it helped make up the numbers for a few of the regulars who couldn't attend because of other commitments.


THE_WINNING_TEAM.jpgThe winning team for the weekend was the "Carlton" with a point score of 2080

For all new players wishing to join in our tournaments please follow  RULE 5 on our entry form relating to conditions of entry. It reads as follows:
"Enter as an individual. The BMAQ tournament committee will then place all entrants into teams of equal ability. Hence it is important to indicate either current grade played, level of experience or by reference to someone you know who plays with the Masters."

To all players currently taking part in our tournaments please be reminded that in an endeavour to increase our numbers for each tournament I ask you all to make mention of our tournaments to your fellow badminton buddies who may not be aware of our events. Stress to them to indicate their skill level based on the above criteria if they want to participate. By encouraging them to come along and have a go it will make for a more exciting tournament.

Sunday noon was a sit down affair when once again it was AGM time which is always run during the first tournament of each year. On this occasion two committee members decided that they needed a break, namely Bob Braid and bev Ursem and nominations were called for a QBA Representative and a committee member

We thank both Bob and Bev for the efforts they put in. Memberhip.


Marion McNicoll, New face on the committee


The Action

New Committee

The new committee is as follows:

President - Graham Bonnett
Vice President - Errol Vickers
Secretary - John Ursem
Treasurer - Lynda Massey
QBA Rep - Ulf Lunquist
Committee Members - Phil Pycroft, Paula Edds, Lennie Rasmussen